We Have Liftoff

by maggie mullikin

Fact.  Elon University’s  School of Communications has created a leading edge master of arts program and students are landing jobs after graduation. Great jobs.

Matt Duncan is a Multimedia Designer with NASA in Washington DC.  He has combined his skills and passion, found a great job in an exciting city and took time to meet with me and share his words of wisdom about Elon’s Interactive Media program.

“After graduating from North Carolina A&T State University with my degree in Graphic Design I was looking for a master’s program where I could grow my skills in digital media, digital marketing, and social media. Elon’s iMedia program allowed me to study and gain knowledge of all of these disciplines. Another reason I decided to attend Elon was because of the facilities and incentives the program provides. Having all the Adobe software for free, and given to me when the program began, was a huge benefit for my life after Elon. I was able to land internships/jobs because I had my own laptop with the software I needed.

“My interactive master’s degree has made a significant impact in my career. It allowed me to gain the skill sets needed to become a well-rounded graphic designer by mastering web design, film and photography, and motion design. It also added additional skill sets I did not have before such as, project management, social media, and digital marketing. 

“I would recommend the iMedia program to others because of the versatility it offers and the up to date training you receive on current trends in the industry. There are many different avenues you can take in this program. If you are undecided on what you want to do this program exposes you to different projects and assignments and helps you find your right path. The digital media industry changes so frequently, learning from professors who worked in the industry and still have connections is such a big help. 

“My advice for current and prospective iMedia students is to make sure you use the resources that Elon has to offer. Elon has some of the best professors you will ever have. Take time out to pick their brain and gain valuable insight. Also make sure that you speak with people in Career Services as much as possible. They can help you with your transition for your life after graduate school. Ross Wade is best career guidance counselor! Make him your best friend.”

Visiting Matt at NASA was fantastic.  He is creating, contributing, and continuing to prove the strengths and benefits of our iMedia program.

nasa_logo

Leave a Reply

