So Much More than Cookies and Camp

by maggie mullikin

I recently visited with Meghan Gargan Bredhal, a 2011 iMedia graduate. Meghan talked about her job and the role the iMedia program has played in her career.

“My current job title is Digital Marketing & Project Director for Girl Scouts – North Carolina Coastal Pines. We are one of 112 councils that sit under the Girl Scouts USA umbrella. We serve 28,000 girls in central and eastern North Carolina and roughly 10,000 adult volunteers.

“In this role I’m responsible for developing and implementing the organization’s digital marketing strategy in order to achieve key business objectives such as increasing customer acquisition and retention, product revenue, and brand awareness. I lead and oversee the social media marketing program, design and distribute email marketing campaigns, oversee and update the website and blog, as well as lead the Salesforce CRM and marketing automation projects we have going on right now. It’s a big job, but very rewarding.

What is truly unique about the iMedia program is that it gives students a taste of everything, making them well-rounded candidates for the interactive industry. My versatility is something that helped me stand out from the crowd of more than 200 applicants. Additionally, having portfolio pieces to show that I not only talk the talk, but walk the walk, was what helped my current boss decide I was the best candidate for the job.  

“Whether I’m designing a visual piece of content for social media, strategizing on the best time to send an email blast, mapping out the new UX and IA for the Girl Scouts website (coming summer 2014) or developing a consumer promotion to drive customer loyalty and engagement – I rely on my iMedia education every single day.

The best part of Meghan’s job, “Girl Scout Cookies! Just kidding! Although, they are a wonderful perk. The best part of my job is knowing that I’m making a difference in the lives of girls and adults across North Carolina. Non-profits have a reputation for being behind the times when it comes to technology and I’m glad to say that Girl Scouts isn’t one of them. We are constantly innovating and improving the way we do things and finding ways to incorporate technology to make it easier and more convenient for our members.”

Meghan’s advice for potential iMedia students,
“For potential students, I really recommend coming into the program with 1-2 years of work experience or 2-3 really strong internships under your belt. Understanding the demands of the workforce helped me place my iMedia education into context. It helped me define the areas that were most in-demand for my industry as well as develop specific portfolio pieces for the jobs I wanted once I graduated. Finally, having worked for two years before joining the program, I already had a well established network of contacts who were eager to learn about and share my work – thus leading to new contacts and new opportunities.”

Advice for current students,
“Be passionate. Be hungry for knowledge. Be exhausted (you can catch up on sleep in May!). The 10 months will fly by and there will never be another time in your life where you can completely immerse yourself in your digital education. Take advantage of every opportunity, explore any and all paths that interest you, and never stop learning once you graduate.”

One thought on “So Much More than Cookies and Camp

Leave a Reply

